Logo Animated GIF

Throughout the third project, we’ve been planning and experimenting with animation. Once I had figured out the basics, I downloaded the app, ProCreate and started animating my logo for my branding project.

At the start of the animation, I worked in Photoshop, drawing the animation while also looking at the storyboard I had drawn in my sketchbook. As seen below in digital.

However, I was struggling while using Photoshop, and due to time restraints, I knew I wouldn’t have got it done in time without asking to go between lessons to complete it. Instead, I exported the animation halfway through, and put it as a file on Google Drive then imported onto ProCreate on my iPad.

Once I had done that, I went back to work, drawing the rest, then duplicating it until I had finished the drawing part, as seen here.

Next, I went back to colour it all in, which took me even longer as I foolishly decided not to colour in the panels in the comic book before duplicating. And even when I went back and did so, I missed a few areas. Will try to double check in future before exporting.

I also had a time lapse recording of the process, however, both versions can’t be imported on either here or YouTube. Will try to figure out a way around that. Somehow.

If I was to say anything about this, I would say I enjoyed it, and had fun creating it. However, in future, I think I’d try starting the animation early before having the lesson about it when thinking about time management. Furthermore, colour in the pieces that would stay the same first, then duplicate them to save time.

I had already learnt how to animate beforehand, which was an advantage for the project, and I always have ace ideas when it comes to story boarding so it wasn’t difficult coming up with the idea and how it would play out. However, this was my first time using Photoshop, so I had a slight disadvantage which I later turned into an advantage by first, learning the ropes of Photoshop quickly and then exporting the animation onto Procreate so I could work on it throughout the week and at home with little worry.

Leave a comment