Character Draft to Final

Ever since coming to UCM and doing the Art & Design Course from Level 1 – Level 3 2nd year, I have been getting better at my drawing skills. However, character details, poses and features has always been a struggle for me. This is quite evident from looking at the example below.

FMP Level 2 Piece 1 (Robo-Hackers: Issue 1, Page 1 Original)

However, overtime, in just two years, my artwork has been improving from block like designs to more flexible designs.

Robo-Hackers: Issue 1 Page 14 Original, textless

Even so, I still struggle with figure drawing. While moving the arms and legs aren’t too difficult, trying to move the head has always been a problem for me. This is evident in my latest works as well.

Dan’s Hair Makeover
Darwin & Eddie Comic Strip 2 Page 1
Darwin & Eddie Comic Strip 2 Page 3

But aside from that, my artwork has been improving. My shading and lighting skills have improved drastically, and I have got to the point where I can even draw creases in clothing as seen below!

Robo-Hackers: Issue 1 Page 1 Redraw

Which brings us to my latest animation, showing my character design from draft to final. There are still a few things which I am still inexperienced at, namely the size of a leg and the position of a foot, but with how rapidly my artwork is evolving, I will hopefully begin improving on this soon.

Process:

  1. Head shape draft and rectangle for body. Line for pose.
  2. Arms and Legs draft.
  3. Eyes.
  4. Face.
  5. Hair and Ear.
  6. Ear details and eyebrows.
  7. Ink rough.
  8. Enlarge or minimise. (depending on size)
  9. Additional details. (irises, pockets, shoes and creases)
  10. Colour.
  11. Shading & Lighting. (final design)

Leave a comment