Drawing Process

Early experiments:

Background & Perspective Drawing.

Process

  • Follow step-by-step with Mastering Manga Book.
  • Draw a horizontal line with a red line.
  • Outline the 3D lines in red.
  • Draw the lines in black for ‘ink’.
  • Add in detail.
  • Add in characters (optional)
  • Add on colour.
  • Shading & Lighting (optional)
Outline
Rough Draft
Additional Details
Characters: Rough
Colours
Finished Version

Originally, this drawing was going to feature in the animation as a glimpse into one of the character’s futures, showing where they end up. However, it was scrapped. However, I used the process I made here for my future drawings as a way to help draw the background.

Horizontal Line
Rough Draft
Final Sketch

Character Facial Expressions and Poses:

During the lockdown, I managed to meet up with a friend who posed for me. I used the photos I took on one of my characters.

Character Pose
Emotion: Happy
Character Design

Collage:

Process:

  • Take a photo of a texture or pattern.
  • Import into animation video.
  • Set the opacity at 50%.
  • Add additional colour for background and photo.

(footage of the collage is seen in the actual animation)

In addition, I used the Photocopied versions of the Lino Prints I made for collage.

Leave a comment